Joffrey's "The Nutcracker" Puts on a Magical Holiday Show.

e-mail icon
Sunday, December 8, 2013 - 8:37pm

photo credits: Herbert Migdoll

I was invited along with a guest to the grand opening of  Robert Joffrey's "The Nutcracker" performance on December 6th. It takes place at the beautiful and ornate Auditorium Theater through December 28th. The performance is accompanied by Chicago's Philharmonic Orchestra with Tchaikovsky's classical score. 

Nothing shows off that the holidays are here than the Nutcracker-the magical toys that come to life and the costumes and decorations will delight those young and old alike. Along with the ensemble, 118 young dancers from around the Chicagoland performed.

From the moment the curtains unveiled, I was uplifted in this journey of Clara, who started off attending an elaborate Christmas Eve party and was then whisked away in a holiday fantasy dream of toy soldiers, sugar plum fairies, and a winter wonderland scene with the Nutcracker Prince where the the Snow King and Snow Queen makes you think you are dreaming yourself. Another delightful scene was when the Sugar Plum Fairy presents Clara with a variety of sweet delights such as Coffee from Arabia, Nougat from Russia, Chocolate from Spain, and Marzipan from Denmark, each representing their own exotic way.

 

The Joffrey Ballet puts on a spectacular performance and it was truly magical, a true escapism from the real world that puts a smile on your face from the start of the show to the end. It was really cold that night, but my heart and soul were definitely warmed up watching The Nutcracker. The last time I viewed this was when I was only 12 years old so it was interesting to watch it 20 years later. It still had an impact of how marvelous it was and will always make me feel like a little girl at heart. The Nutcracker itself is a wonderful story that can be viewed as a holiday tradition but to see it perform in such eloquence and grace through this company made it even more special.

The annual production schedule of Robert Joffrey’s The Nutcracker is as follows:  Friday, Dec. 6, 7 pm; Saturday, Dec. 7, 2 pm and 7 pm; Sunday, Dec. 8, 2 pm; Thursday, Dec. 12, 7 pm; Friday, Dec. 13, 7 pm; Saturday, Dec. 14, 2 pm and 7 pm; Sunday, Dec. 15, 2 pm and 7 pm; Thursday, Dec. 19, 7 pm; Friday, Dec. 20, 7 pm; Saturday, Dec. 21, 2 pm and 7 pm; Sunday, Dec. 22, 2 pm and 7 pm; Monday, Dec. 23, 2 pm and 7 pm; Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2 pm; Thursday, Dec. 26, 2 pm and 7 pm; Friday, Dec. 27 at 2 pm; and Saturday, Dec. 28 at 2pm.

 

Single tickets are available for purchase at The Joffrey Ballet’s official Box Office located in the lobby of Joffrey Tower, 10 E. Randolph Street, as well as the Auditorium Theater of Roosevelt University box office, all Ticketmaster Ticket Centers, by telephone at (800) 982-2787 or online at  www.ticketmaster.com.  

 

 

 

 

Deanna's picture
Deanna Kozarov
e-mail icon

Add comment

Log in or register to post comments

Be in the know!

Sign up free for events and updates!

Join the TLTeam Today

Do you love Chicago? You could join our exclusive TLTeam of contributors!

Apply Now to join the TLTeam!

We also accept guest posts. If you'd like to write a guest post please apply here.